The student and adult directors of The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield (TSF) recently convened for their 63rd Annual Meeting.  During this gathering, new directors were welcomed and reports of the past year and plans for the upcoming year were shared.

Photo of Kathy Scanlon and Jay Pinette

Kathy Scanlon, President of The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield, congratulates Jay Pinette, the recipient of the 2023 Patricia B. Mooney Volunteer Recognition Award.

The meeting commenced with the presentation of the 2023 Patricia B. Mooney Volunteer Recognition Award.  Pat Mooney was a pillar of TSF who contributed to every aspect of the organization in her remarkable 34 years of service. The award in her name recognizes an individual who has contributed outstanding volunteer leadership and service to further the mission of TSF.  This year’s award was proudly presented to Jay Pinette for his many contributions as a director, officer, fund sponsor, and generous supporter.

The Nominating Committee Chairperson Michael Kilkelly submitted the names of the new directors joining the board, which include Richard Bondi, Kathleen DeCosta, Rebecca Lamarre, Kim Penney, Beth Sullivan, and Rose Tramontozzi.

New Board members

Kathy Scanlon, (left) President of The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield, welcomes new board members Becky Lamarre, Rich Bondi, Rose Tramontozzi and Beth Sullivan. Also joining the board but not pictured are Kim Penney and Kathy DeCosta.

Continuing in their roles as officers for the upcoming year are Kathy Scanlon, President; T.J. White, Vice President; Jim Guarino, Financial Vice President; Jay Landers, Jr., Treasurer; Stacey Constas, Secretary; Katie Fallon, Financial Secretary; and Frank McLean, Auditor.

Photo of six of the TSF Officers

The officers of the TSF Board of Directors for the upcoming year include from left to right: Stacey Constas (Secretary), Jim Guarino (Financial Vice President), T.J. White (Vice President), Kathy Scanlon (President), Jay Landers (Treasurer) and Katie Fallon (Financial Secretary). Missing from the photo is Frank McLean (Auditor).

Three resigning directors were recognized for their many contributions to TSF. Mike Boudreau, Steve Nixon, and Jack O’Leary were acknowledged for a combined total of 40 years of service.  Mike Boudreau was a board member for six years, serving on the Golf and Trivia Team Challenge committees. Steve Nixon contributed for 12 years as a director, serving on the Trivia Team Challenge and Business Appeal committees while also providing valuable marketing advice.  Jack O’Leary dedicated 22 years of service as a steadfast director.  He was a longstanding member of the Golf and Office committees and contributed to many TSF events.  He was also the 2014 recipient of the Patricia B. Mooney Volunteer Recognition Award.

Photo of Kathy Scanlon presenting resignation gift to Jack O'leary

Longtime TSF board member Jack O’Leary, who is resigning after 22 years of service, is thanked for his many contributions by TSF President Kathy Scanlon.

Reports from officers and committee chairs chronicled an exciting and successful year for The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield. Student Director President Joseph Patt, WMHS ’24, representing the TSF Student Directors, reported on the efforts of the student directors during the previous academic year and shared plans for 2024. The 2023-2024 student director officers include Joseph Patt, President; Lauren Mangarelli, Vice President; Ahmed Othman, Secretary; and Alejandro Borda, Treasurer.  This year’s student directors include:  Molly Anderson, Alejandro Borda (Treasurer), Ava Cable, Audrey Callahan, Sienna Catizone, Wisely Chea, Caroline Dill, Gina Drinkwater, Charles Gagne,  Marc Gagne, Mackenzie Grace, McKayla Herzog, Jack Hodgdon, Owen Kelley, Sofia Macaluso, Lauren Mangarelli (Vice President), Aidan Martin, Andrew Nett, Brandon Nett, Alla Othman,  Ahmed Othman (Secretary), Maya Palic, Yash Patel, Riya Patel, Jhalak Patel, Joseph Patt (President), Laxmi Punj, Rita Sarkissian, Lucy Spry, Victoria Sullivan, Dylan Wickwire

Photo of 22 students directors at the annual meeting

The Student Directors of The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield attended the recent Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors. This student group will be active in TSF activities throughout the year, including the Annual Appeal being held in March.

The attendees enjoyed a delicious buffet dinner catered by Anne Giambarresi of House Calls Catering.  Rosanne Phillips and Michael Rodman of Wakefield made it a special event with the donation of beautifully designed floral centerpieces.