The Officers of The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield elected at TSF’s recent Annual Meeting include from left to right: Jim Guarino (Financial Vice President), Jay Landers, Jr. (Treasurer), Stacey Constas (Secretary), Kathy Scanlon (President), T.J. White (Vice President) and Katie Fallon (Financial Secretary). Missing from the photo is Frank McLean (Auditor).

Student and adult directors of The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield gathered on November 2, 2022, to present reports on the past year, elect officers, welcome new adult and student directors, and share plans for the upcoming year at the organization’s 62nd Annual Meeting.  This year’s event was the first held in person since 2019.  Following two years of annual meetings held via Zoom, the evening was especially enjoyed by the attendees as a chance to reconnect. 

After welcoming remarks by outgoing president Michael Kilkelly, the presentation of the 2022 Patricia B. Mooney Volunteer Recognition Award was made.  Pat Mooney was a pillar of TSF who contributed to every aspect of the organization in her 34 years of service. This award honors an individual who has contributed outstanding volunteer leadership and service to further the mission of TSF.  This year’s award was presented to Ann Hadley for her steadfast support over the past 24 years as a director, serving in a variety of roles including that of “official photographer.”   

Ann Hadley - PBM award

Ann Hadley, Patricia B. Mooney Volunteer Recognition Award winner, with Michael Kilkelly

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Faith Hodgkins, welcomed new directors Cathy Wensley, Jo-Anne Bourque, Lucy Skeldon. The Executive Officers elected for the upcoming year are Kathy Scanlon, President; T.J. White, Vice President; Jim Guarino, Financial Vice President; Jay Landers, Jr., Treasurer; Stacey Constas, Secretary; Katie Fallon, Financial Secretary; and Frank McLean, Auditor.  All of the new directors and new officers were warmly received by the membership.  Recognized and acknowledged for his two-year term of service was outgoing president Michael Kilkelly.    

Photo of New directors

New directors Cathy Wensley, Jo-Anne Bourque, Lucy Skeldon with incoming President Kathy Scanlon (right)

Photo of Michael Kilkelly and Kathy Scanlon.

Outgoing president Michael Kilkelly is recognized for his leadership by incoming president Kathy Scanlon.


Steve Coyne, Jean Hall, and Martie Vatalaro were recognized and thanked for their outstanding contributions and many years of support to TSF.  These three resigning directors gave a combined total of over 70 years of service to TSF.  Steve Coyne served as a director for 22 years, as a Past President, and on the Scholarship, Nominating and Investment committees.  Jean Hall was a director for an impressive 31 years.  She is a Past President and served as Financial Secretary.  Martie Vatalaro was a director for 20 years and was an integral member of the Trivia Team Challenge Committee as well as the Office and Dance committees.  


Reports from Officers and Committee Chairs chronicled another exciting and successful year for The Scholarship Foundation of Wakefield.  Student Director President Madison Nett, WHS ’23, speaking on behalf of the TSF Student Directors, reported on the work of the student directors during the previous academic year and plans anticipated for 2023.

photo of 4 student officers

2022-2023 Student Officers are (L to R): Sophia Scalzo (treasurer), Caroline Guanci (vice president), Samantha Marshall (secretary), and Madison Nett (president).

The attendees enjoyed a delicious buffet dinner catered by Anne Giambarresi of House Calls Catering.  Rosanne Phillips and Michael Rodman of Wakefield made it a special event with their donation of beautifully designed floral centerpieces.  Wonderful dinner music was arranged through Wakefield Public Schools Visual & Performing Arts Director Tom Bankert and Wakefield Public Schools Orchestra Director Sarah Bowen and provided by talented WMHS students Dina Deleidi, Brendan Lynch, Cara Nishino and Lucy Wagner. 

Dinner music was provided by talented WMHS students Cara Nishino, Lucy Wagner, Brendan Lynch, and Dina Deleidi.